Spirituality- way of life (part 3)

Part 2

Part 3: In search of that which is not

When I was studying in high school, one thing that amazed me is about Astronomy (in my mother tongue ‘Khagola Shastra’).


Its all about the birth of universe, stars and life. Because different religious texts have different belief about the existence of universe. Science also deals in its own way.


But everyone agree that physical things which are present in this cosmos are too small. Most of the space is dark and nothing. That nothingness is the reason behind all the creation and reffered as Shi-va or  ‘that which is not’ ( by Sadghuru).

So that one thing gave me a different perspective in looking at life. Because as a human being we always tend to look for light. In our mind darkness means a negative thought will arise. We forgot to remember these light sources are not permenent. Darkness is only there throughout in our cosmos.

In spiritual practices that nothingness is referred as Shiva. Who is the creator and destroyer of everything. Because here everything comes from nothing and goes to nothing.

After realising this, my way of looking at temples has changed. Before that I used to visit temple for one reason. God please give me hapiness, health, a good life, these were my prayers. But after that whenever I visit to temple, I just sit there quietly and as Sri Sharnkaracharya said

ಯಸ್ಯ ಬ್ರಹ್ಮಣಿ ರಮತೇ ಚಿತ್ತಂ
ನಂದತಿ ನಂದತಿ ನಂದತ್ಯೇವ |

(ಯಾವಾತನ ಚಿತ್ತವು ಬ್ರಹ್ಮಚಿಂತನೆಯಲ್ಲಿ ನಿರತವಾಗಿರುವುದೋ ಆತನು ಆನಂದದಲ್ಲಿ ಮುಳುಗುತ್ತಾನೆ.
ಆನಂದದಲ್ಲಿರುತ್ತಾನೆ, ಆನಂದಿಸುತ್ತಲೇ ಇರುತ್ತಾನೆ)

Whoever trying to reach ultimate creator without any materialistic or physical desire.
He will be happy.
He will be always blissful.

To be continued…

Leave a comment